PDA

View Full Version : I hate Priuses

Wounded Ronin
2nd September 09, 09:07 PM
Just something I feel like I have to get off my chest. I really hate Priuses. My strongest hate is reserved for the 01 Prius.

I'm relatively new to driving, only having driven for around a year, but for my job I drive a Prius a lot. On some days I put 100 miles on the Prius and I drive at least 30 or 40 miles on most weekdays.

The 01 Prius was a nerve-wracking car to learn to drive in. In the first place it's expensive so it's more drama if you were to break it by accident than, say, a used Chevy Cavalier.

It also feels like it's designed to get broken by accident. It accelerates really sluggishly so it's harder to avoid people who barge into your lane, or get into fast moving traffic. When you load it up it (two people, myself, and carry on luggage on the way to the airport) it can barely move and bottoms out going over a speedbump in a parking lot. The clearance is low so you're more likely to get damaged by random garbage in the highway or street. Just today, when I was parking on a dirt shoulder, a piece of metal garbage which had been concealed by dust (we're talking Las Vegas) scraped the bottom of the Prius. I stopped as soon as I felt the scraping, which scared the shit out of me, and dug the garbage out of the dust by hand and took it out from under the car; luckily there was no fluid leakage or signs of damage but it just made me get pissed off at the low clearance.

The 01 Prius is also really not very fuel efficient. Without the air conditioning, and with a lot of coasting, I can get a fuel economy of over 40 MPG. With the air conditioning going (because the temperature outside is like 110 degrees) the fuel economy drops to around 35 MPG. At that point why the hell bother with a Prius when you could just drive a normal cheap economy car like a Chevy Cavalier or a Hyundai Accent and get similar fuel economy and a whole lot less stress?