PDA

View Full Version : Your admin needs a new PC; help him shop, also mock him for not knowing all this crap

Stick
15th August 07, 07:21 PM
Alright, I've been using this Dell Inspiron 8500 laptop since summer of 2003. It survived my trip to Japan, it's survived travels across the country, it even managed to stay in one piece when I'd pack it up and bike ride around town in 110 degree Oklahoma weather; basically it's been a good little (actuall for a laptop it's huge) laptop.

Sadly, its tech specs have naturally fallen away and become less and less acceptable.

Mobile Intel Pentium 4 - M CPU 2.00 GHz
1.99 GHz. 1.25 GB of RAM
Fujitsu DVD player and CD burner
A battery that now lasts for a good 5 minutes (easily replaced, but still)
2 USB 2.0 ports, not nearly enough for the dozen odd peripherals I have
60gig HD with an 80gig external which BTW is a USB device so that eats one of my 2 slots >_<
a pretty nice wide screen display with one obnoxiously burned out pixel (just one, but I ALWAYS SEE IT!)
sticky keys

Now that I have Adobe Photoshop CS3, my kick ass SLR camera that takes 5meg JPGs and 30meg RAW images, to say nothing of all the web2.0 crap I do (there are like 7 IE tabs open right now, two of them youtube, AIM, Skype, Vongo movie service), and finally the vicious system hog that is security.... well, this little laptop just can't handle all this shit.

I haven't been able to play a new, top-shelf PC game on this comp in years, but frankly with my XBox360 i don't much care, I do however care about editing more videos (http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=tenshirisu), designing bigger and better graphics (http://tenshirisu.deviantart.com/), and generally being able to keep tabs on anything I'd ever want to keep tabs on.

Now that I've finally get income, it's time for me to get a bright shiny new desk top!