PDA

View Full Version : Science is completely objective...no really

Chantress
8th March 07, 11:06 PM
So I work in the medical field. I currently record sleep studies and do some rudimentary diagnonsis and treatment of sleeping disorders. I am studying to take the BRPT exam, which would allow me to go much farther with my career. I came across this passage in a book I was studying, and wanted to share it with you.

It is very difficult today in 2004, to understand and appreciate the exceedingly controversial nature of these findings. The following note from a more personal account illustrates both the power and the danger of scientific dogma. "I wrote them [the findings] up, but the paper was nearly impossible to publish because it was completely contradictory to the totally dominant neurophysiological theory of the time. The assertion by me that an activated EEG could be associated with unambiguous sleep was considered to be absurd. As it turned out, previous investigators had observed an activated EEG during sleep in cats but simply could not believe it and ascribed it to arousing influences during sleep. A colleague who was assisting me was sufficiently skeptical that he preferred that I publish the paper as sole author. After four or five rejections, to my everlasting gratitude, Editor-in-Chief Herbert Jasper accepted the paper without revision for publication in Electroencephalography and Clinical Neurophysiology"
This huge advance in sleep medicine completely changed how we study sleep today, yet was by and large rejected by the scientific community becuase it flew in the face of all that had been known up to this point about sleep. Up until this time sleep had been seen largely as just a state of inactivity where the body rested. There were no stages of sleep and dreaming was typically attributed to anxiety rather than to being a normal function of a bodily cycle.